BCL factional clash injures 30

Ref: At least 30 people, including an Upazila chairman and journalists, have been injured in a clash between two groups of pro-government Bangladesh Chhatra League in the district town.

Police and witnesses said the clash took place on Thursday over the student council elections of Government Nazimuddin College.

Incidents of chase and counter-chase occurred in front of the residence of shipping minister Shajahan Khan from 12pm to 2pm.

Police charged batons and fired teargas shells on the warring groups to control the situation.

Madaripur police superintendent Tamizuddin Ahmed said the elections to the student council were held peacefully despite the clash outside the college campus.

Police and witnesses said the two rival groups of Chhatra League, having separate panels in the elections, locked into the clash with sharp weapons.

Madaripur Sadar Upazila chairman Pavelur Rahman Khan Shafique, district Awami League organising secretary Kajal Krishna Dey, Juba League leader Enayet Hossain and the college student council’s former vice-president Masud Pervez were among the injured.

They were admitted to Madaripur Sadar Hospital.

Witnesses said the two Chhatra League panels and another of Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal and Islami Chhatra Shibir contested the polls.

Local Awami League leaders, mostly the supporters of the shipping minister, extended support to a Chhatra League panel.

Another Chhatra League panel enjoyed support from Bahauddin Nasim, organising secretary of Awami League’s central committee.

The BCL men chopped ‘My TV’s Madaripur correspondent Monir Hossain Bilas while he was taking video footage of the fight. They vandalised his motorbike and snatched his camera.

Two other motorbikes were set ablaze during the clash.

The BCL men also manhandled additional police superintendent Nahidul Islam.

Police superintendent Tamizuddin said legal steps would be taken against those who assaulted Nahidul.

More than one Awami League candidates contested the Madaripur Sadar Upazila Parishad elections due to a long-running dispute between the ruling party leaders.

Leave a Reply