Tangail by-polls begin

Ref: The by-polls of Tangail-3 (Ghatail) constituency have begun from 8am on Sunday, returning officer Syed Mohammad Khurshid Anwar told bdnews24.com.

The polling will run through 4pm across 96 centres, he added.

Former Joint Secretary of District Awami League Shahidul Islam Lebu is the Awami League candidate, former District AL Religious Affairs Secretary Amanur Rahman Khan Rana contesting as independent candidate and Abu Yousuf Abdul Tuhin is Jatiya Party nominated candidate.

The constituency fell vacant following death of former MP Dr Matiur Rahman on Sep 13.

Returning officer said the constituency comprising of 11 Unions, one city corporation and one cantonment board has 271,329 voters. Of them 131,786 are men and 139,543 are women.

A total of 96 presiding officers, 582 assistant presiding officers and 1,164 polling officers would supervise the by-polls, he added.

Teams of 40 Executive Magistrates and four Judicial Magistrates will supervise law and order in the area. Police and Ansar Battalion have been deployed along with six platoons of Ban

Comments are closed.